Made to Crave Week 2 – Identity Statements

…There once was a bunny who decided he no longer wanted to be a bunny – he instead wanted to be a beaver, but… so he went to be a bear, but… so he went to be a skunk, but… on he went until he realized being a bunny is who is was… he alone, couldn’t change this.  (Adapted from the story, It’s Not Easy Being a Bunny, by Marilyn Sadler.) Its not easy being a bunny

Oh, how I live my days like this sometimes.  From the moment I accepted Christ as my savior, I became a new creation (2 Cor. 5:17-21), that creation is God’s Masterpiece (Ephesians 2:10), his precious child who he dearly loves (John 1:12-13).   However, many days I feel like something so different.  Thankfully, someone’s identity is defined by what they ARE, not what they feel like, what they look like, or even what they act like.  I may not feel like it, I may not act like it – but my identity isn’t defined by how I feel or act, it is defined by the creator.   Just as the bunny could try as he may to be something he wasn’t, he couldn’t change the fact that he would always be a bunny.

Today, I look in the mirror and remind myself –

“I am a princess of the true King”

“I am a child of the One Holy, Almighty God”

“I am anointed, blessed, and accepted by my Lord”

Parable of the KingIn Beth Moore’s children’s book, A Parable about the King, a young princess runs away because she doesn’t want to clean her room. Soon she finds a group of peasant children playing in the streets and joins them; pretending she is “one of them”, she tries to do and say what they do and say.  However, she is a child of the King and quickly discovers she doesn’t fit in with them. Humiliated and dirty, she runs back to the palace, only to find the secret door she left from, locked. Her only way back in is through the front door; when she knocks on the door her father answers. The girl throws herself at his feet and begs forgiveness. The King simply pulls her into his arms and says,
“You may have acted like them, but you are not one of them. You are mine, and you will never be happy until you accept both the privilege and responsibility that goes with belonging to me.”

Beth does a wonderful job of reminding us we are a child of God, a child of the King, a child who is deeply loved, forgiven and wanted more than we’ll ever understand.  Many times the pull of this world, the cravings of this world, beckon us to follow the world.  However, we find this doesn’t make us happy, it doesn’t fill us and we are left empty and feeling guilty.   We may act like we belong to the world, but we don’t.  As Christian’s we belong to the Holy God!

Lysa’s statement in chapter 5 of Made to Crave echoes in my ears this week, “We were made for more”.  With each craving, negative thought, empty desire – my spirit has reminded me “I am made for more”… but what more?  … God!   We are his children and we should act like it!  I was made to crave God, his forgiveness, his wisdom, his love… all of Him.  Until I understand who I am in Christ, follow passionately the path God has laid out for me, and fill my desires and cravings with the Lord, then I will not truly live.

Psalm 139:13-16
For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.

1 Peter 2:9
But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to God, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light

Jeremiah 29:11
For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Ephesians 1:4-5
For he chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight. In love he predestined us to be adopted as his sons through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will.

Ephesians 2:10
For we are God’s workmanship [masterpiece], created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

Colossians 2:13-14
When you were dead in your sins and in the uncircumcision of your sinful nature, God made you alive with Christ. He forgave us all our sins, having canceled the written code, with its regulations, that was against us and that stood opposed to us; he took it away, nailing it to the cross.

John 1:12-13
Yet to all who received him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God- children born not of natural descent, nor of human decision or a husband’s will, but born of God.

Galatians 4:6-7
Because you are sons, God sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, the Spirit who calls out, “Abba, Father.” So you are no longer a slave, but a son; and since you are a son, God has made you also an heir.

John 15:15
I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.

Romans 5:1-2
Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God.

Colossians 3:12
Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.

Galatians 3:26-27
You are all sons of God through faith in Christ Jesus, for all of you who were baptized into Christ have clothed yourselves with Christ.

Psalm 138:8
The LORD will fulfill his purpose for me; your love, O LORD, endures forever-do not abandon the works of your hands.

1 Thessalonians 1:4-6
For we know, brothers loved by God, that he has chosen you, because our gospel came to you not simply with words, but also with power, with the Holy Spirit and with deep conviction. You know how we lived among you for your sake. You became imitators of us and of the Lord; in spite of severe suffering, you welcomed the message with the joy given by the Holy Spirit.

Romans 8:14-15
because those who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God. For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship. And by him we cry, “Abba, Father.”

1 Thessalonians 5:5
You are all sons of the light and sons of the day. We do not belong to the night or to the darkness.

2 Corinthians 1:21-22
Now it is God who makes both us and you stand firm in Christ. He anointed us, set his seal of ownership on us, and put his Spirit in our hearts as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come.

1 John 3:1
How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are! The reason the world does not know us is that it did not know him.

1 Corinthians 3:16
Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit lives in you?

2 Corinthians 5:17-21
Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come! All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation: that God was reconciling the world to himself in Christ, not counting men’s sins against them. And he has committed to us the message of reconciliation. We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us. We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God. God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.

1 Peter 2:5
you also, like living stones, are being built into a spiritual house to be a holy priesthood, offering spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ.

4 thoughts on “Made to Crave Week 2 – Identity Statements

Leave a Reply

