Let.It.Go – Week 3

Week 3 ~ Memory Verse

The quote the rang the most with me this week was on page 114, ” Be a thermostat, not a thermometer. Set the tone and environment in your home.”  We women do have a lot of power in setting the tone.  The saying, “If Momma ain’t happy, then nobody’s happy” is commonly known for a reason!

One thing that helps me is to remember that emotions don’t dictate truth… feelings don’t dictate reality.  Truth and reality are unchanging – regardless of the emotions/feelings we have there are truths that we must hold on to and focus on – even when our emotions and feelings tell us differently.  Maybe focusing on realities – like I’m accepted by the Lord Almighty, even when my teen (or friend) won’t always accept me.  I am beautiful and wonderfully made, even though not a hair on my head is obeying my commands, my face is breaking out, and lips are completely chapped!

Life is busy, emotions can run thin.  I’m trying to keep my focus on the moment.  Letting God sweat the big stuff.

The last couple weeks have been crazy busy – kids shared flu back and forth, when well they had activities to run to, work was crazy… just a lot going on… but I won’t focus on the crazy, but the moments that God blesses me with that are wonderful.  Today is one of them.

I’m in the mid-west so school was canceled, roads snow packed and we all had to stay home.  After a couple of hours of shoveling (we have a looonnnggg drive way and do it by hand) we had a little fun outside!  So this is what we spent our busy day doing afterwards… and why I’m late getting the blog out today and why it is so short… it is now Hot Coco time! 🙂

DSCN0030

Yes, we got a lot of snow, they loved building this little fort and hope the dog doesn’t try to dig them out!

DSCN0032

We love our dog, Sheldon, but he is a little silly!  He kept running away with the sled and even would take it and try to run while kids were on it!

DSCN0048

Making snow angels!

DSCN0039

My gorgeous “snow angel”!  🙂

2 thoughts on “Let.It.Go – Week 3

  1. Kim,

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us this week! You have some really great thoughts! I loved this: “One thing that helps me is to remember that emotions don’t dictate truth… feelings don’t dictate reality.” This is such a great thing to remember. Thanks again for sharing! 🙂

    Blessings,
    Kristen (OBS group leader)

Leave a Reply

